Bounty Hunting in Utah, UT
In Utah, Bounty Hunting is very well defined by state law and is also heavily regulated. There are three levels of Bounty Hunters in the state: Bail Enforcement Agents, who apprehend fugitives and are directly appointed by a bail bond company, Bail Recovery Agents, who are directly employed by and assist the Bail Enforcement Agents in recovery and supervision, and Bail Recovery Apprentices, who do not meet requirements for licensure as the other types of Bounty Hunters and work directly under the supervision of the Enforcement or Recovery Agents. All three positions, however, require licensure, and there are many strict requirements for licensure, discussed below.
How to Become a Bounty Hunter in Utah
Becoming a Bounty Hunter in Utah is a somewhat lengthy process that begins with a 16 hour course covering topics such as search, seizure, arrest, detainment, pursuit, ethics, and other processes and laws pertinent to Fugitive Recovery in the state. If one wishes to carry firearms they must also complete a 16 hour firearms course approved by the Criminal Investigations and Technical Services Division of the Utah government. One must begin either in law enforcement or as a Bail Recovery Apprentice, employed by a Bail Enforcement Agent, who is concurrently contracted by a bail bond agency. Beyond the requisite education and training, it is a good idea to pursue training in skip tracing and fugitive recovery in order to secure a position as an apprentice should you be new to bail enforcement.
Utah Bounty Hunter Licenses and Requirements
Each of the above mentioned Bounty Hunter positions requires a different license in Utah. There are some common requirements, however. One must be at least 21, a US citizen or legal resident of the country, and “of good moral character.” One may not be a convicted felon or convicted of a weapons act, personal violence, any act of dishonesty or fraud, impersonating a peace officer, an act of moral turpitude, or be on probation, parole, community supervision, or named on an outstanding arrest warrant. Furthermore, peace officers cannot be licensed as a Fugitive Recovery Agent.
Bail Enforcement Agents must have at least 2000 hours of experience in bail enforcement or law enforcement and be able to document it specifically should they wish to obtain a license. They then must provide a number of other items such as passport sized photographs, proof of completion of the aforementioned training programs, a statement of intent to engage in the bail bond business, the address of the business they will work for, a fingerprint card, and pay a $250 fee.
Bail Recovery Agents must have at least 1000 documented hours of experience and provide a signed letter of intent from the company that will employ them. Otherwise, the requirements are the same as for a Bail Enforcement Agent, except the fee is $150.
Bail Recovery Apprentices must have a signed letter from the recovery or enforcement agent that will employ them along with their application and may not provide services directly to the public. The cost for application is $150. If you have little experience in the bail bond industry and this is your entry point it is a good idea to receive sufficient training and education before you contact another agent for employment, to prove your dedication to the industry and competency in carrying out the tasks required of a Fugitive Recovery Agent.
Forms for license applications are available through the Utah Department of Public Safety, here, and must be submitted in person to the Bureau of Criminal Identification in Salt Lake City.